Text Size

Government Holidays for 2020

The following is a list of designated Paid Holidays for 2020 and the dates which
they will be observed by employees working daily hours Monday-Friday.

New Year's Day
Wednesday, January 1, 2020
St. Patrick's Day
Monday, March 16, 2020
Good Friday
Friday, April 10, 2020
St. George's Day
Monday, April 20, 2020
Victoria Day
Monday, May 18, 2020
Discovery Day
Monday, June 22, 2020
Memorial Day
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Orangeman's Day Monday, July 13, 2020
Labour Day
Monday, September 7, 2020
Thanksgiving Day
Monday, October 12, 2020
Armistice Day (Remembrance Day)
Wednesday, November 11, 2020
Christmas Day
Friday, December 25, 2020
Boxing Day
Monday, December 26, 2020

One (1) additional day in each year that, in the opinion of the Permanent Head, is recognized to be a civic holiday in the area in which the employee is employed. If no civic holiday is provided, the employee shall be granted an additional day at a time to be determined by the Permanent Head.

Employees working in continuous operations and/or in shift operations will have paid holidays on days designated by the Permanent Head of their Department.

Any clarification or question regarding this memo should be directed to the Collective Bargaining Division at 729-2343.

Last Updated:
This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved.