Text Size

Government Holidays for 2018

The following is a list of designated Paid Holidays for 2018 and the dates which
they will be observed by employees working daily hours Monday-Friday.

New Year's Day
Monday, January 1, 2018
St. Patrick's Day
Monday, March 19, 2018
Good Friday
Friday, March 30, 2018
St. George's Day
Monday, April 23, 2018
Victoria Day
Monday, May 21, 2018
Discovery Day
Monday, June 25, 2018
Memorial Day
Monday, July 2, 2018
Orangeman's Day Monday, July 9, 2018
Labour Day
Monday, September 3, 2018
Thanksgiving Day
Monday, October 8, 2018
Armistice Day (Remembrance Day)
Monday, November 12, 2018
Christmas Day
Tuesday, December 25, 2018
Boxing Day
Wednesday, December 26, 2018

One (1) additional day in each year that, in the opinion of the Permanent Head, is recognized to be a civic holiday in the area in which the employee is employed. If no civic holiday is provided, the employee shall be granted an additional day at a time to be determined by the Permanent Head.

Employees working in continuous operations and/or in shift operations will have paid holidays on days designated by the Permanent Head of their Department.

Any clarification or questions regarding the above should be directed to the Employment and Labour Relations Division at 709-729-2471.

 
Last Updated:
This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved.