Text Size

Government Holidays for 2012

The following is a list of designated Paid Holidays for 2012 and the dates which
they will be observed by employees working daily hours Monday-Friday.

New Year's Day
(January 1)
Monday, January 2, 2012
St. Patrick's Day
(March 17)
Monday, March 19, 2012
Good Friday
(Christian Calendar)
Friday, April 6, 2012
St. George's Day
(April 23)
Monday, April 23, 2012
Victoria Day
(May 24)
Monday, May 21, 2012
Discovery Day
(June 24)
Monday, June 25, 2012
Memorial Day
(July 1)
Monday, July 2, 2012
Orangeman's Day (July 12) Monday, July 9, 2012
Labour Day
(1st Monday in September)
Monday, September 3, 2012
Thanksgiving Day
(2nd Monday in October)
Monday, October 8, 2012
Armistice Day (Remembrance Day)
(Nov 11)
Monday, November 12, 2012
Christmas Day
(December 25)
Tuesday, December 25, 2012
Boxing Day
(December 26)
Wednesday, December 26, 2012

One (1) additional day in each year that, in the opinion of the Permanent Head, is recognized to be a civic holiday in the area in which the employee is employed. If no civic holiday is provided, the employee shall be granted an additional day at a time to be determined by the Permanent Head.

Employees working in continuous operations and/or in shift operations will have paid holidays on days designated by the Permanent Head of their Department.

Last Updated:
This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved.