Text Size

Government Holidays for 2010

The following is a list of designated Paid Holidays for 2010 and the dates on
which they will be observed by employees working daily hours Monday-Friday.

New Year's Day
(January 1)
Friday, January 1, 2010
St. Patrick's Day
(March 17)
Monday, March 15, 2010
Good Friday
(Christian Calendar)
Friday, April 2, 2010
St. George's Day
(April 23)
Monday, April 19, 2010
Victoria Day
(May 24)
Monday, May 24, 2010
Discovery Day
(June 24)
Monday, June 21, 2010
Memorial Day
(July 1)
Thursday, July 1, 2010
Orangeman's Day
(July 12)
Monday, July 12, 2010
Labour Day
(1st Monday in September)
Monday, September 6, 2010
Thanksgiving Day
(2nd Monday in October)
Monday, October 11, 2010
Armistice Day (Remembrance Day)
(November 11th)
Thursday, November 11, 2010
Christmas Day
(December 25)
Monday, December 27, 2010
Boxing Day
(December 26)
Tuesday, December 28, 2010

One (1) additional day in each year that, in the opinion of the Permanent Head, is recognized to be a civic holiday in the area in which the employee is employed. If no civic holiday is provided, the employee shall be granted an additional day at a time to be determined by the Permanent Head.

Employees working in continuous operations and/or shift operations will have paid holidays on days designated by the Permanent Head of their Department.

Any clarification or questions regarding this memo should be directed to the Collective Bargaining Division at 709-729-2471.

Last Updated:
This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved.